Beauty · My Concern

Should Myself Fit-In to the Beauty Standard ?

Beauty standard does exist EVERYWHERE. We can’t deny the fact that society form certain beauty standard. It’s also the society whom against that beauty standard when it’s ‘harmful’ for other people.

Are we going to talk about how the beauty standard formed ? Nope. At least not in this article.

What’s the Beauty Standard in Indonesia (particularly Javanese) for female ?

*First thing first I’m going to point out the beauty standard from my very own experience and perspective. It doesn’t apply to anyone, that’s why it called a stereotype. So ~ chill ~

Obviously, have no obesity. Some people say skinny is better than fatty. Probably, in romantic relationship, it’s shameful for some men to ‘walk’ with big girl. Or it’s difficult to hold them. Not sure. Also probably people think fatty is unhealthy, while it’s not 100% true. You know, every body-shapes has a chance to be unhealthy.

No arm & leg hair. Arm and leg hair is just for men. That’s what I thought until high school. I only knew that women had soft and thin arm & leg hair. I entered university and realized that women could also had a pretty thick arm & leg hair. And that’s not a ‘sin’, that’s normal. Nothing to be ashamed of.

Fair skin-tone. Some people call our, Javanese people, skin-tone as exotic. It’s not dark yet not very bright, just like tanned-skin. We call it ‘sawo matang’, literally means ripped ‘sawo’ (kind of fruit). However, having bright skin consider as prettier than having ‘sawo matang’ skin. Like, when people ask what girl’s type men would like to date. They always mention, “Tinggi (tall), putih (bright skin), langsing (slim)”. Every person has their own type okay ? So chill ~~

Straight & Long Hair. Long hair considered as feminine, straight hair considered as tidy and pretty. Having short hair particularly men-like-haircut considered as a tomboy, even parents want their daughters to maintain their hair long. Talking about hair shape, there was the era where straightener tool is famous and almost all of my female friends have it. And most of them straighten their hair. Then, another era came where perm and wavy hair became a trend. Well ~ it’s just up to our decision either to follow the trend or not, right ?

What’s my relationship with those beauty standard ?

I couldn’t count how many people -for my entire 24 years life- told me that I’m fat, I need to lose weight, I have unhealthy body, I won’t get a man ’cause I’m fat, asking my body’s weight. I got offended, ’cause I KNEW they didn’t say that to encourage me to be a better person. They did that ’cause I was different from probably what they expected. And I didn’t ask them to interfere my body, I didn’t interfere theirs as well. Lately, I don’t take what others words as an ‘insult’. Whatever they say, I’m here just being myself. And doing my best to become healthy and happy !

So the answer for ‘Should I Fit-In to the Beauty Standard?’ is NO.

Leave a Reply

